What It’s All About, Folks

On a cold, windy December night, 2016, one of my hens hatched a brood of chicks. It wasn’t the first time this had happened, but as always, God threw in something a little extra to surprise me. This time, it happened to be a particularly special chick -a chick born with just one leg. I have named her Una.

At the time this blog was started, Una was five days old and living in a box in my kitchen under a heat lamp, with one of her siblings for company. I don’t know what’s going to happen to Una or how she will adapt to the challenge of missing a leg, but I intend to give her the best chance. I am deeply inspired by the way many of the creatures I care for tackle their trials, and I think others will be inspired by them too.

Please have fun following along with my whole crew: Una the One-Legged Wonder Chick, her diva friend Gloria, Cachito the grumpy old man in cute fluffy dog shape, Jeffrey the (female) sassy lovebird, and my Silkies, Sugar and Spice. I am also a college student majoring in nursing, a full-time bookworm, and an amateur artist. I’m just here to have fun, and I hope you are, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

